Heavy Logix.

Lateral Thoughts on Life.

How to become Rahtid Rich !

My Billy Scorpio post reminded me of another encounter with mastery, which I wrote about on the 16th of November, 2000. The story  was published before, in an online newsletter for Jamaican Diapora, and also, in an Ardenne Alumni newsletter :

How to become Rahtid Rich !

A world famous author told me recently that every great story begins with a complicating situation, a problem, some conflict that needs to be resolved .

In my case the conflict was internal. I was no longer happy with my situation. I wanted more than life was giving me. I wanted to be happy, to have money in my pocket and a smart, gorgeous woman on my arm. Unfortunately here I was at twenty-nine under employed, broke and single.

I glanced at my bookshelf, crammed with dozens of titles, but one seemed to jump out at me ” Think and Grow Rich ” the title said. I smiled, wishing it were really that simple. I am a good chessplayer, surely if thinking was the key to riches I’d be playing golf with Bill Gates by now. Nonetheless, I began to think and even dream as I turned on my radio.

” How could I make loads of money doing something I really enjoyed ? ” I asked myself.

” Write a Rahtid book ! ” the voice of Cliff Hughes on the radio answered my question.

I was a bit startled to get a reply and quickly turned up the volume.

” Author, Colin Channer will be giving a lecture at the University entitled “How to write a Rahtid Book ! ” the public is invited and admission is free. “, Cliff Hughes continued speaking on the radio. I felt like he was answering my question and the word “free” had proved it.

So there I was at the Neville Hall lecture theatre a few days later, waiting (but not in vain) for what would be a life-changing experience.

As I waited, I scanned the crowd slowly filling the room. The word “free” always ensures a diverse and interesting mixture of people. Tonight was no different.

There was the white man with dreadlocks, assorted students, several other dreads, many bald heads. Weaves and an artificial blond in the front row also a real blond with tattoos. Pseudo-intellectuals and even intellectuals were in the crowd.

Some people held copies of Mr. Channer’s bestseller, ” Waiting in Vain “, others clutched notebooks. Some people looked as serious as judges while others were literally laughing-out loud. I wondered if I was in the right place.

That’s when she came in. A vision of loveliness. A lady. A gorgeous lady and she sat just two rows in front of me. Now I knew I was in the right place. She looked familiar somehow and I tried to remember her name and where I’d seen her before.

Karlene, I think that’s her name. I couldn’t help thinking that she’d look fantastic on my arm.

That’s when Colin Channer walked in. He could easily have passed for a student himself, with his casual outfit and hair skillfully done by the “Mi-jus-wake” salon. He flashed a brilliant smile as he was introduced, waited for the applause to die down and then began telling us how to write a rahtid book.

Colin Channer

Colin Channer

In a dazzling display of the style which had made his first novel a runaway success, he was entertaining and informative, as he covered all aspects of writing. From dealing with agents and writing book proposals, to actual plotting and even character development.

Speaking with the ease of a true master he peppered his delivery with humour and “jamaicanisms” in a way that was truly “boombastical”.

It is said that from learning to master one thing we could master one thousand things. Colin Channer seems to agree as he showed that even his very life could be plotted out like a novel. He illustrated how to create a gripping plot by using many events in his own life. Thus the keen listeners ( and those who read between the lines ) were being taught not just how to write but also how to live.

As a former student of Ardenne High, I knew that Colin Channer had also been exposed to Ms. Robinson’s excellent English classes but it takes many strands to weave the web of success. I knew there was more to his story.

Some of these secret strands were revealed when Colin Channer emphasized his “typical Jamaican mother” and the conversation with God that changed his life.

When I realized that the woman I had been admiring in the audience was actually Colin Channer’s date for the evening, I knew I had to become a rahtid writer too !

The story has just begun.

January 14, 2009 - Posted by | Beautiful Women, think and grow rich, writing | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. lol! that wasn’t Colin’s date if its the Karlene i’m thinking of, long braids, great smile…she works for Calabash among other things and is probably free and single!

    Comment by Goat Mouth | January 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. Oops, my bad. 🙂

    Comment by heavylogix | January 14, 2009 | Reply

  3. Very interesting. I like the artsy pic on your profile too!

    Comment by debspointofview | January 15, 2009 | Reply

  4. Oh, I love this post. You need to find Karlene and give her a talk still! I am so sorry I missed that lecture, I quite like Colin Channer’s work, I have read three of his novels. They were excellent, though I must confess I never liked the endings of the novels. Anyway, big up on this post and good luck with the writing. By way of encouragement in the field, let me say that Wilbur Smith is one of my favourite authors and what I have read of his lifestory reads like one of his novels. (very exciting stuff, beautiful women, money, enemies, family members who grudge and envy them, yaddah yaddah). If you do really well, maybe you will live an interesting life with hot women, etc., like him.

    Comment by Mad Bull | January 17, 2009 | Reply

  5. Debs — Glad you like the artsy pic, I was dabbling in Photoshop and that was the “heaviest” result I got.

    Mad Bull — An interesting life awaits you say ? Sounds like an ancient chinese curse but I’ll go for it. Never read Wilbur Smith or the Septimus Heap stuff (mentioned on your blog) but I’ll check them out soon.

    Comment by heavylogix | January 18, 2009 | Reply

  6. A really masterful post you made here. I think you are already a master but waiting on the approval of others to much. There are ways to kick this kind of bad habit taught to us in the framework and model of the western world’s view of our what life should look like.

    We often live in the reverse in all we are BE-ing DO-ing and HAVE-ing. We have been in error proceeding head first in a HAVE DO BE format. Basically hurting ourselves to HAVE what it takes to DO that which we would prefer to to DO. With the aim of finally BE-ing happy, peaceful and joyous. We have to turn it all around.

    What would it be like if we had the wealth, health and fame we desired? What would we feel like? How would we operate? We actually should Be in that state of body and mind firstly; then proceed to DO the activities and actions required at this state; then the stuff and goodies that are attracted at this level of happiness, peace and joy literally presents themselves in your space.

    Life and the universal forces of life present to us that which we command from the deepest place within – from our core. Our calm, inner comfort and vibe will attract that which is naturally comfortable and at its frequency of vibration which is of course stress free.

    At which time you’ll gladly accept with kind gratitude and appreciation or gently decline them. Since you would no longer (at your core) even be desirous of these material items but for the extent that it complete your joyous work. Plus at this state you know all is always available to you in all ways. You have remembered at the level of the soul – that you are already whole.

    Comment by ccc3000 | February 10, 2009 | Reply

  7. […] of my heroes, Colin Channer, (although I didn’t). Channer had nonetheless taught me “How to write a Rahtid book“. I wrote “Journey to Jakes” based on this pilgrimage […]

    Pingback by Blogging. My first year. « Heavy Logix. | January 9, 2010 | Reply

  8. Hi, Neat post. There’s a problem with your site in internet explorer, would test this IE still is the market leader and a good portion of people will miss your excellent writing because of this problem. dfffbkckkbae

    Comment by Johnc411 | May 27, 2014 | Reply


Leave a comment