Heavy Logix.

Lateral Thoughts on Life.

Eye on Evolution.

  Which came first, the chicken or the egg ?

  Yesterday a friend was trying to convince me that Evolution is not a complete theory and that creation can only be explained by some form of Intelligent Design. I listened amusedly to his various arguments then I waved a hand and cut him off.

  “You’re preaching to the choir, dude. How can something as complicated as an eyeball just evolve ?” I asked.

250px-Monkey-typing

   That’s like the concept several people have that a million monkeys typing randomly for a million years will one day write a tome to equal those of Shakespeare himself. I disagree.

    I see things differently.

reactual-eye-yttrium

 I visited the La Brea Tar Pits, years ago,  a leading museum about Evolution and I noticed the statues of  Evolution they had there seemed to be pushing some sort of Racial superiority dogma. The most evolved looked like some Caucasians and the less evolved statues looked more African. 

 I also noted that there was an exhibit with a flying dinosaur where of the hundreds of bones that they assume this creature to have they had only found a handful.

   Based on these observations it seemed to me that there was as much guesswork, fantasy and political wranglings in the Cult of  Evolution as there was in other religious cults.

  And this whole Carbon Dating thing I’m not convinced about the accuracy of that either.  

    Some questions just can’t be answered, Who or what created Creation itself is probably one of them.

May 10, 2009 - Posted by | fiction, In the Beginning, non fiction, philosophy, writing | ,

5 Comments »

  1. Mark,

    Have you read The God Delusion by Richard Dawkins? It may help with the clarifications you seek.

    D

    Comment by Dennis | May 11, 2009 | Reply

    • I’ll never have perfect clarity, I tend to like keeping two opposed ideas in my mind at one time. Fuzzy Logix, I guess, but it works for me. I am familiar with Richard Dawkin’s ideas and also his classic “Selfish Genes”.

      Comment by heavylogix | May 11, 2009 | Reply

  2. Try “More than a Theory” by Hugh Ross.Or “The Dawkins Delusion?” by McGrath.

    Comment by chris nahrwold | May 11, 2009 | Reply

  3. I agree with you totally, all this complexity in the design of our universe, earth and bodies, could not came by chance. It had to have some form of intelligence behind it all. One thing I always wonder about evolution, if so many creatures evolved from other primitive life, why haven’t human evolved as yet? We have been around for thousands of years! The evolution theory has more holes than a strainer to me.

    Comment by Stunner | May 11, 2009 | Reply

  4. I am SO with you on this one, its not even funny! Even if things do evolve (an unproven “fact”), can there not be the hand of God behind that? Who created evolution? Who allows it to happen? It doesn’t look like it is random to me at all.

    Comment by Mad Bull | May 12, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

