Heavy Logix.

Lateral Thoughts on Life.

The Writer’s Hajj.

    In many religions it is customary, or even obligatory, for ahderents to pay homage, by travelling to a particular place, or holy site. They make a pilgrimage. 

Mecca.

Mecca.

    I would not describe myself as overly Religous, since I tend to be more of a seeker type, not a dogmatic holder of any particular truth to the exclusion of others. However at this juncture in life I feel…well…I feel Religous. I feel like I am about to make a pilgramage. A Writer’s Hajj if you will. And it’s a good feeling. A sense of Adventure, nervous anticipation, excitement 
and even a tinge of awe.
     I want to pay homage to literature and the arts, that which has renewed my purpose in life, that which gives me hope for a better future. That which I enjoy and truly love. The craft of  writing. 
    Calabash 2009, with it’s dazzling array of writers who will be sharing their best works in person is my Mecca. 
    The clincher was seeing the name Melvin Van Peebles. He is a legendary director that I’d love to see and hear. So many greats in one room I’ll have to charge up the little camera and keep busy with my notebook. It’s simply an unbelievable opprtunity to learn and bask in the creative forces.
   No less important will be the new friendships made, the sight of fellow travellers, pilgrim’s progressing on similar paths. Followers of the Faith.  All different yet in this place all the same. All equal.
Prepare for the Future.

Prepare for the Future.

  
Already though it’s an act of faith to even dream of attending. I have not planned well at all and the Rooms in the South Coast Inns are all taken already, the buses are all loaded and the way is dark and scary. Times like this you need a friend and it seems I have none. Also the regular obligations of life demand full attention and the wallet is unbearably light. Can such 
a frivolous and impractical journey be made at such a time as this ? 
   It must be made. If not now, then when ? If not us, then who ? The Mountain won’t come to us, we must go to the Mountain. Calabash 2009. 
   What do I hope for ? Nothing less than an Epiphany, something so special that it will change my life. 
   Malcolm X made the trip to Mecca and discovered therein the atoning power of Islam as a means to unity. He realized self knowledge and respect. He said poignantly,“In my thirty-nine years on this earth…the Holy City of Mecca had been the first time I had ever stood before the Creator of All and felt like a complete human being.”
    Calabash 2009. We’ll be there. Faithfully.
May 4, 2009 - Posted by | blog, current news, movies, non fiction, Photography, preview, writing | , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. i sooo want to go!!! But I’m being careful how much exuberance I put into wanting to go this year, and trying to channel that energy into actually getting there for a change, lol.

    Comment by ruthibelle | May 6, 2009 | Reply

  2. yeah, I sadly understand what you mean Ruthibelle, because so far my eagerness to go doesn’t seem to be getting me any closer to actually reaching.

    Comment by heavy logix | May 7, 2009 | Reply

  3. Good luck to you both.

    Comment by Mad Bull | May 9, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

