Heavy Logix.

Lateral Thoughts on Life.

Workman needs Bigger Zoom.

 

(This blog post is dedicated to Stunner, a great blogger and super-great photographer who I have never met but whose mental skills I appreciate.)

Nowadays, to protect his ego and perhaps avoid a lawsuit, or a warranty dispute, the poor workman will always be quick to tell his employer that he did a great job and that he put in tremendous work but results simply had to be constrained by the inadequacies of their equipment.

We’ve all heard the proverb “A Poor Workman Blames His Tool(s)” and it’s of course very true, but lately I’ve come to realize a slight twist on this ancient adage. The twisted, or Heavy Logix, version, of the proverb, goes like this, “People will always give your tool(s) credit, not your mind, for any good work done”.

I noticed it when I decided to start enjoying my hobbies more. I have many hobbies but wasn’t taking any of them seriously. This blog shows me starting to write again but I also began to take my many other interests, like photography and Music, more seriously too. I’ve been an amateur in all these areas for years but think I have some talent and I really enjoy them so although I didn’t have the funds to invest in any major zoom lens or even a tripod I began to use my little digital camera more often and put up some of these shots on my Facebook pages.

Whenever I take a decent photo though I notice that the praise from my so-called  friends is always somewhat muted. They seem to think the camera did all the work and I just accidentally happened to be around at the same time. They don’t want to give me any credit.

 

Fountain at Devon House

Fountain at Devon House

For instance this shot I took recently at Devon House made one of my photographically inclined friends ask me all about the specs of my camera and the price. Even after he heard it was a no-name brand he still said he wants to buy one.  (My camera is just a Mustek MDC830Z, digital point-and-shoot with 8.1 Megapixels).

 I offered to swap his Top of the line Zoom lens SLR-camera for my no-name brand and haven’t heard back from him since. I was being a bit facetious but I feel the situation warrants it.

 To me the notion that just buying the same camera will enable you to take similar quality  shots  is almost as ridiculous as thinking that if you get Stephen King’s pen you’ll suddenly be able to write like him.

Having a good Workman’s tools does not miraculously make you a good work man. I’m sorry to be blunt but the truth is if you have the equipment and can’t use it you will still fail to achieve the desired results. 

The proof is in the Pudding.  Practice makes perfect.Use your brain, be creative, that’s actually more important than having the most expensive camera or the biggest zoom on your lens.

I’m really talking photography here,  please stay focused on the point. 🙂

 

 

Brian Lara and Obama

Brian Lara and Obama

If Brian Lara wore Obama’s suit could he then become a great President ? Now that he has Lara’s cricket bat do you really think that Obama is the Babe Ruth or the Michael Jordan of Cricket ?

May 1, 2009 - Posted by | blog, humor, Lateral Thinking, non fiction, Photography, Psychology, Strategy, success, writing | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. just call it penis envy and dun…y’know if they had yr tool or Stephen King’s pen is it going to make them write like you or him?

    Comment by Annie Paul | May 2, 2009 | Reply

  2. Dude,

    I can’t tell you the number of times this has happened to me…it’s actually WORSE when you have a large intimidating Pro digital SLR! Because a camera so intimidating MUST be able to take perfect pictures automatically, right? I just press the shutter and the complex algorithms calculates the best composition, lighting conditions and hours of post processing in photoshop. Ya, I wrote a similar post about my experiences a while back. You can check it out http://hammondvilleblog.com/?p=18

    Most people think of photography as a commodity. The ubiquity of increasingly complex point and shoots give the impression that the difference between a good and a bad photograph is the instrument between the subject and the person pressing the shutter. Unfortunately, this thinking isn’t going to change but at least we can correct the ignorance of the person asking the question. Change them one at a time.

    Comment by Dennis | May 2, 2009 | Reply

  3. Wow Dennis that’s pretty uncanny how great minds think alike. Your blog was conveying the same idea but way better than I could. Unless of course you tell me what kind of keyboard and computer you’re using to write your blog 🙂

    Comment by heavylogix | May 2, 2009 | Reply

  4. Thanks for the dedication and the kind words, I really appreciate it.

    You made a very good point in this post, it’s not the tool that creates wonderful work, but the person who uses the tool. I too used to think that the bigger better DSLR or even top end point and shoot digital cameras would make my photos much better. It was not until I got my second Point and Shoot that I realized that good pictures wasn’t totally dependent on the camera. I soon found out that the quality of the photograph taken was mostly dependent on the skills that I started to develop through practicing and a lot of reading.

    The new DSLR I got has allowed me more flexibility to experiment and to grow in my hobby and amateur trek to photography bliss. However, I would have been most disappointed if I was still being guided by the presumption that a better camera will miraculously allow me to take better photos. Photography is just like any other skill, your work is just a reflection of your passion, experimenting, learning and practicing, and not on the tool.

    I too have heard a lot of people express the same misguided sentiments that the bigger and better the camera, the better and more creative the photo will look. As Dennis said, hopefully people will stumble across yours and Dennis’ posts and see the light.

    Sorry for the long post-like comment, but I get excited talking about photography, lol!

    Comment by Stunner | May 3, 2009 | Reply

  5. You and Stunner are great photographers. As for me, I just try to depend on the size and power of my tool! ;^)

    Like you, I’m just talking photography…

    Comment by Mad Bull | May 9, 2009 | Reply

  6. Stunner, the excitement and passion you have, for photography, really shows in your work. Great stuff.

    Comment by heavylogix | May 9, 2009 | Reply

  7. Good one MB.

    Comment by heavylogix | May 9, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

