Heavy Logix.

Lateral Thoughts on Life.

Apocalypto.

” I am Jaguar Paw. This is my forest.”

I enjoyed Mad Bull’s blog, about a ridiculous Asian show, with a tagline that was almost meta physical, “Death is just an Upgrade”, so much, that I decided to write a movie review too.

With this in mind I snapped up two films from the office DVD guy.

The shows I grabbed were Apocalypto and Seven Pounds. I chose Apocalypto because this friend of mine named Carl had wanted me to see it and the other one had Will Smith. I am told that Will picks interesting roles to play. Last thing I saw him in was probably an episode of Fresh Prince of Bel-Air, needless to say I’d watch Apocalypto first.

Anyway I live online so it’s only because my recent Valentine’s tryst, with my mistress Caissa, had left my computer acting all slow and “hacked-like” that I even fired up the DVD, some two weeks after I’d got it. While I watched Apocalypto my computer got a defrag.

Apocalypto.

Apocalypto.

I won’t tell you much of the story, (don’t want to spoil it for you when you watch it), except to say it’s about a tribesman in a Mayan type world and is full of violence. Horrific levels of violence. I don’t think the violence is just gratuitous though. In fact nothing in the film is. Everything is there for a specific purpose and relevant to the overall plot. From a writing perspective, I really loved this show. I thought about it carefully and although there are a few scenes I don’t fully understand yet and many ways to interpret the film, I am pretty much convinced that nothing in the show could have been left out. Neither in terms of Violence nor other plot elements.

The movie had the pace of the best Hitchcock shows, the characters worthy of a Mario Puzo epic, great acting by an unknown cast, a strange yet familiar world, all you can ask for in a movie, frankly. Horrific though, because we recognize the Pol-Pot Hulk in our David Banner civilized selves is just a step away from emerging and it’s more barbaric than any tribesman hunting for food could ever be.

” I am Jaguar Paw. This is my forest.”, with those simple words a hero was born, a man to be remembered for all generations. A message to us all that the game of survival is about adapting to your environs and to change itself. A Mayan version of “Who moved my Cheese ? “.

Some will see the show as nothing more than a sick blood-fest, a too graphic version of Conan the Barbarian or even Mad Max, but Mel
Gibson is clearly making a barrage of points both subtly and obviously.

Politically, he says a civilization cannot be conquered from without, until it’s conquered from within. That argument is probably total
tripe but it’s a necessary argument for his main religious thrust to hold any water.

Watch this show. I give it my highest recommendation. At least promise you’ll watch it before you watch another rerun of Fresh Prince of Bel-Air.

February 17, 2009 - Posted by | blog, fiction, movies, non fiction, writing | , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. lol, ok. i’ve heard about it b4 too. So no more Fresh Prince til I see Apoca -lypso, I mean -lypto!

    Comment by Ruthibelle | February 18, 2009 | Reply

  2. I wrote about Apocalypto briefly some time ago, but all I said was that it “was a decent watch still”. Thinking back to the movie now, I think I did it a major dis-service. Apocalypto was awesome! Haven’t seen Seven Pounds yet. What about it, was it good? I hope so because that one where Will played the superhero drunk was rubbish! (can’t remember the name now!) Actually, the story was ok, but the end made it really rubbish!

    Comment by Mad Bull | February 21, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

